National Advisory Group for School Self Evaluation

The National Advisory Group for School Self Evaluation (SSE) is made up of representatives from the education partners and its main role currently is to assist the Department in preparing for the next phase of SSE. This consultation exercise has now ceased its activities.

Terms of Reference

The group is consulted by the DES Inspectorate in relation to the implementation of school self-evaluation in primary and post-primary schools.

The current consultation on the next phase of School Self Evaluation of teaching and learning will be completed by September 2016. Consultation on SSE of leadership in schools is ongoing.

A final report and Circular will be submitted to the Minister for Education and Skills for approval prior to publication.

Advisory Group Memberhsip

  • Designated Public Official (DPO): Harold Hislop, Chief Inspector, Department of Education and Skills

  • Chairperson: Harold Hislop, Chief Inspector, DES
  • Peter Mullan, INTO
  • Nóra Ní Loingsigh, Gaelscoilleanna Teo
  • Noreen Lawlor, CPSMA
  • Aine Lynch, NPC Primary
  • Maria Doyle, IPPN
  • Maria Leydon, ASTI
  • David Duffy, TUI
  • Pat O'Mahony, ETBI
  • John Irwin, ACCS
  • Michael Raedmond, JMB
  • Tim Geraghty, NAPD
  • Don Myers, NPC Post-Primary
  • Joanna Siewierska, ISSU
  • Eilis Humphreys, ACTS
  • Kevin Fennelly, CoI Board of Education
  • Carmel Kearns, Teaching Council
  • Paul Byrne, NAPD
  • Caoimhín Ó hEaghra, An Fórus Pátrúnachta
  • Breda Carr, NABMSE
  • Paul Rowe, Education Together
  • Sr, Mary Collins, Association of Primary Teaching Sisters
  • Asiyah Al-Tawash, Muslim Primary Education Board
  • Sandra Irwin-Gowran, GLEN
  • Catherine Hynes / Aoife Conduit, DES
  • Emily Logan, Ombudsman for Children
  • Renee Dempsey, Equality Authority


National Advisory Group for SSE Meetings


Secretary: Deirdre Matthews
Address: Block 3, Department of Education and Skills, Marlborough St, Dublin 1, D01 RC96
Phone: +35318892055

See Also