High Level Group on International Education

Who we are

International High Level Group on International Education

Terms of Reference

Steering group to support the Internationalisation of Ireland's education system in accordance with the Government's International Education Strategies (2010-2015), (2016-2020).

This Interdepartmental Group will remain in place for the duration of the International Education Strategy which is due to end in 2020.


Designated Public Official (DPO): Mary Doyle, Deputy Secretary General, DES

Chairperson: Mary Doyle, Deputy Secretary General, DES

Vincent Landers, DES

Alan O'Callaghan, DES

Wendy Ross, DES

Sarah Moroney, DES

Mary Whelan, DES

David Smith, DES

Alma Ní Choigligh, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Michael Walsh, Department of Justice and Equality

Ken Spratt, Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport

Maria Melia, Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport

Seamus Chamberlain, Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation

Giles O'Neil, Enterprise Ireland

Barry O'Driscoll, Enterprise ireland

Anne Looney, HEA

Gerry O'Sullivan, HEA

Gemma Irvine, HEA

Ned Costello, Irish Universities Association

Sinéad Lucey, Irish Universities Association

Miriam Ryan, Institutes of Technology Ireland

Jim Murray, Institutes of Technology Ireland

Tom Collins, Institutes of Technology Ireland

Diarmuid Hegarthy, Higher Education Consultants Association

David O'Grady, Marketing English in Ireland

Sue Hackett, QQI

Deirdre Stritch, QQI

Sheila Power, Irish Council for Internattional Students

Robert Flood, Dublin Institute of Technology

Ruth Freeman, Science Foundation Ireland

Ciara Cotter, Science Foundation Ireland

Cathal J Kelly, Royal College of Surgeons

Philip Curtis, Royal College of Surgeons

Rebecca Woolf, Association of Study Abroad Providers in Ireland (ASAPI)

Holly Cowman, Conference of Heads of Irish Colleges of Education



Meetings Documentation


Secretary: Matthew O'Reilly Kavanagh / Anne Holland, DES

E-mail: Matthew_OReillyKavan@education.gov.ie


Address: Department of Education and Skills, Marlborough St, Dublin 1
+35318892379 / +35318892027

See Also