Information note SIU0001/2020 outlines changes to Cirular 0016/2019 regarding advertising procedures for Home School Community Liaison (HSCL) Coordinators in recognised schools as a result of the Covid 19 pandemic.

Home School Community Liaison Scheme (HSCL)

Under DEIS (Delivering Equality of Opportunity in Schools), the HSCL Scheme is available to all DEIS Urban Band 1, Urban Band 2 and DEIS Post Primary schools. Rural DEIS schools were withdrawn from the Rural Coordinator service under HSCL in September, 2011.

A list of all DEIS schools can be downloaded from List of DEIS schools.

The Department’s Circular 0016/2019 - Home School Community Liaison Scheme: Assignment of Home School Community Liaison Coordinators within DEIS schools outlines the regulations and procedures to be implemented regarding the assignment of HSCL Coordinators within DEIS schools. There is an amended version of "Guidelines on the use of the Home School Community Liaison (HSCL) Grant" within Circular 0016/2019(Section six).

The Information Booklet for DEIS schools participating in the Home School Community Liaison Scheme provides Urban Band 1, Band 2 and Post Primary DEIS schools with information on the HSCL Scheme. Please also see the HSCL Induction Booklet.

On January 1st 2014, the statutory functions of the NEWB under the Education (Welfare) Act 2000, were transferred to the newly established Child and Family Agency Tusla (the Agency) and the NEWB was dissolved. Responsibility for the services, formerly provided by NEWB, now rests with the Educational Welfare Services (EWS) of the new Agency, which is the dedicated state agency responsible for improving wellbeing and outcomes for children. The work of HSCL continues as a vital part of the integrated Educational Welfare Services of the Agency in DEIS schools.

The Department of Education and Skills remains responsible for the allocation of HSCL Coordinators to schools. 



Address: Department of Education and Skills, Social Inclusion Unit, Cornamaddy, Athlone, Co Westmeath, N37 X659.

Phone: (090) 648 3764 / 3772