23 November, 2019 - Minister Mitchell O’Connor presents scholarships to 125 recipients at All Ireland Scholarship awards ceremony

The Minister of State for Higher Education Mary Mitchell O’Connor T.D. today (Saturday 23 November) presented certificates to the 125 students receiving the prestigious All Ireland Scholarships, sponsored by JP and Noreen McManus.

The awards ceremony takes place in the University of Limerick where Minister Mitchell O’Connor will be joined by Guest of Honour, Joe Schmidt.

The scholarships programme has been running since 2008 to support gifted students across the country by providing financial support and providing them with a pathway to life in university. 125 scholarships are awarded each year to students from the 32 counties.

Minister Mitchell O’Connor said: “I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all 125 recipients of this year’s All Ireland Scholarship Awards.

“These scholarships are a recognition of your hard work and dedication. You should all be very proud of yourself and your commitment over the past few years. Today is also a proud day for your parents, teachers and all those who have put their faith and support behind you during this important stage in your life.”

The Minister also thanked the generosity of JP McManus who has sponsored the scheme since its inception, “J.P. and Noreen’s imaginative and generous All Ireland Scholarship Scheme opens doors and maps out pathways to a successful future for all of today’s award winners.

“I hope that today’s recipients enjoy and get the utmost delight and reward from their higher education experience as you embark on the next chapter of your lives.”