1 July, 2019 - Minister McHugh announces Non-mainstream Music Education Bursary Scheme 2019 awardees

41 organisations to benefit from €100,000 Non-Mainstream Music Education Bursary Scheme


The Minister for Education and Skills Joe McHugh T.D. today (1 July) announced the successful 41 organisations who will receive a grant under his Department’s Non-Mainstream Music Education Bursary Scheme 2019.

The Non-Mainstream Music Education Bursary scheme provides a means, by way of a small cash grant, to support music education and music initiatives to continue to cultivate the talent of our young musicians. These organisations, groups and individuals provide access to a variety of music education experiences for young people and children.

In March of this year, the Department of Education and Skills invited applications for grants under the scheme. The total budget available in 2019 is €100,000. A full list of the 41 successful recipients is provided below.

Minister McHugh said: “I am very pleased that we can offer this bursary which will help nurture our talented young musicians, supporting many wonderful music initiatives across the country. In particular I wish to acknowledge the commitment of the organisations and the many volunteers who give their time and skills to work with young musicians, providing them with valuable opportunities to explore their full potential.”


Notes to Editor

Some of the recipients include:


Dublin 12 – St. Agnes’ Community Centre for Music and the Arts CLG (CCMA): Bursary award €8,000


Diarmuid Ó Catháin Cultural Centre, Lixnaw, County KerryBursary award €4,500

The Diarmuid Ó Catháin Cultural Centre, Lixnaw, County Kerry aims to integrate all families, both locals and migrants, into community through traditional music, song and dance. Founded 1960, it has 310 members of which 180 are under 18 years of age. They have music tutors, 6 dancing tutors, 1 singing tutor and 2 Irish language tutors. The Centre applied for the bursary looking to purchase an instrument bank with the intention of establishing an instrument loan scheme.


Banna Ceoil Cloich Cheann Fhaola (Cloughaneely Junior Marching Band) Falcarragh, County Donegal: Bursary Award €3,000

Banna Ceoil Cloich Cheann Fhaola (Cloughaneely Junior Marching Band) Falcarragh, County Donegal was established in 1983. The junior band has 5 tutors and 42 members who are under 18 years and perform both contemporary and traditional music. The bursary will ensure they can grow and continue to give local children best possible music education.


Criteria used for evaluation of applications:

  • A well-established track record in music education provision
  • Service provision in the area of non-mainstream music education/community music
  • Delivery of non-mainstream music education for young people aged 18 years and younger
  • Strong learning outcomes for participants
  • Preference was also given to those organisations/groups who can demonstrate that they cater for socio-economically disadvantaged groups.


Full List of recipients:


  1. €2,000 Clarecastle/Ballyea CCÉ, Ennis, Co Clare
  2. €2,000 Cnoc na Gaoithe Comhaltas Cultural Centre, Tulla, Co Clare
  3. €2,000 Cullen Pipe Band, Dripsey, Co Cork
  4. €3,000 Banna Ceoil Cloich Cheann Fhaola – Cloughaneeley, Falcarragh, Co Donegal
  5. €8,000 St Agnes’ Community Centre, Crumlin
  6. €7,500 Whitefriar Street String Project
  7. €2,000 Rathfarnham Concert Band, Dublin 14
  8. €2,000 Ceolteoirí Chluain Tarbh, Clontarf Dublin 3.
  9. €2,000 Craobh Chluin Tarbh CCÉ, Drumcondra, Dublin 3
  10. €2,000 Craobh Cionn tSáile, Kinsealy, Dublin
  11. €2,000 Cuman na nÓg, Craobh Phiarais Ui Ghreagain, St Patricks Cresent, Dunlaoire
  12. €2,000 Ballinasloe Town Band, Co Galway
  13. €2,000 Colour My Strings, Moyderwell, Co Kerry
  14. €4,500 Diarmuid O Cathain Cultural Centre, Lixnaw, Co Kerry
  15. €2,000 Ballydonoghue Lisselton CCÉ, Lisselton, Co Kerry
  16. €2,000 Ballybunion CCÉ, Co Kerry
  17. €2,000 Ballylongford/Tarbert Comhaltas Branch, Tarbert, Co Kerry
  18. €2,000 Ballymore Eustace Concert Band, Co Kildare
  19. €2,000 Craobh Ósraí, Marble City Branch, Comhaltas Kilkenny
  20. €2,000 Glenfarne Comhaltas, Glenfarne, Co Leitrim
  21. €2,000 CCÉ Portlaoise, Co Laois
  22. €2,000 Camross Comhaltas, Co Laois
  23. €2,000 Craobh Seán Ryan, CCÉ Cill Cabhainn, Co Laoise
  24. €2,000 Spink Comhaltas, Abbeyleix, Co Laois
  25. €2,000 Partry Community Choir – Mayo
  26. €2,000 Ceol na Locha, Tourmakeady, Co Mayo
  27. €2,000 Dunboyne Comhaltas, Dunboyne, Co Meath
  28. €2,000 Clara Town Band, Co Offaly
  29. €2,000 Rahan Comhaltas, Tullamore County Offaly
  30. €2,000 Fred Finn Branch Comhaltas, Co Sligo
  31. €3,000 Emly After School Music Club, Emly, Co Tipperary
  32. €2,000 CCÉ Roscrea, Co Tipperary
  33. €2,000 Cahir Comhaltas, Co Tipperary
  34. €2,000 CCÉ Roscra Branch, Roscrea, Co Tipperary
  35. €2,000 Mullingar Town Band
  36. €2,000 CCÉ An Mhuileann gCearr, , Mullingar Co Westmeath
  37. €3,000 HFC Concert Band, Piercetown, Co Wexford
  38. €2,000 CCÉ Gorey/Ballygarrett, Gorey Co Wexford
  39. €2,000  Kilmuckridge Monamolin CCÉ, Gorey Co Wexford
  40. €3,000 Manor Kilbride Music School- Wicklow
  41. €2,000 Wicklow Miners CCÉ, Avoka, Co Wicklow