26 April, 2019 - Minister announces new Primary School for Ashbourne, Co. Meath

The Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh T.D. today announced that a new school is to be established in Ashbourne in September 2019.

Following a review of provision at primary school level in Ashbourne, the Minister has announced that, in addition to the 42 new schools to be established between 2019 and 2022 a new 16-classroom primary school will be established in Ashbourne from September this year.

The Minister said “I am conscious that Ashbourne is an area of growing demographic demand and additional residential development. On foot of local concerns in relation to waiting lists for primary schools my Department reviewed the level of primary provision in Ashbourne. I am satisfied that there is a need for increased capacity in the area and I am pleased to announce that a new Community National School will be established under the patronage of Louth and Meath ETB.

“This will provide clarity and certainty for parents in Ashbourne that additional school places will be available in the area this September.

“I would like to thank the principals in Ashbourne, who I met recently in relation to primary provision in the area.”

The Minister’s decision to award patronage to Louth and Meath ETB reflects the recommendation of the New Schools Establishment Group.

The Group (NSEG) was set up in 2011 to advise the Minister on the patronage of new schools.

Louth and Meath ETB will immediately begin the process of recruiting a principal for the school and making preparations for the school to open.

The Department has begun work on the practical arrangements necessary for the delivery of temporary accommodation for the places required for September 2019 as well as planning for the permanent accommodation.

The new Community National School will be located on the Department-owned site adjacent to the existing three-school school campus in Ashbourne. ENDS


Notes for Editors

Primary School Provision in Ashbourne Town

In terms of existing provision in the town, Ashbourne has 5 primary schools as follows:

1 Multi-denominational gaelscoil (An Foras Pátrúnachta) (2 stream school)

1 Catholic gaelscoil (1 stream)

2 Catholic English-medium schools (5 streams in total)

1 Multi- denominational English medium schools (Educate Together) (2 streams)

New Schools Establishment Group

The patronage process for new schools is overseen by the New Schools Establishment Group (NSEG). This independent advisory group was set up in 2011 to advise the Minister on the patronage of new schools.

The members of the NSEG are:

  • Mr. Joe Hamill (Chairperson), Retired Secretary General of the Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs;
  • Professor Gerry Mac Ruairc, Head, School of Education, National University of Ireland Galway;
  • Professor Sarah Moore, Associate Vice-President Academic, University of Limerick.