04 January, 2018 - Minister Bruton announces Leaving Certificate Computer Science subject

40 schools will be first to start studying Leaving Certificate Computer Science from this September                                                                                                                                                      

Minister Bruton today announced that 40 post primary schools around the country will start studying Leaving Certificate Computer Science from this September and will be the first to sit an exam in the subject in 2020.

The introduction of Computer Science as a Leaving Certificate subject is part of the Government’s overall commitment to embed digital technology in teaching and learning. The society our children will grow up in, will be one which has been fundamentally transformed by new technology.
Our education system must prepare our children to thrive in such an environment by equipping them with skills in creativity, adaptability and problem solving.

Today’s announcement is one of a range of actions the Minister is taking in this area, as outlined in his STEM strategy and Action Plan for Education, which aims to make Ireland the best education and training service in Europe by 2026. It also complements other curricular changes we are implementing such as introducing coding and computational thinking as part of the new maths curriculum for primary schools.

Computer Science for Leaving Certificate focuses on how programming and computational thinking can be applied to the solution of problems, and how computing technology impacts the world around us.

Students will learn

  • Computational thinking
  • How to analyse problems in computational terms
  • Programming languages and how to read, write, test and modify computer programs
  • Creative design
  • Design computational artefacts such as web pages, digital animations, simulations, games, apps and robotic systems
  • The ethical, historical, environmental and technological aspects of Computer Science, and how it impacts the social and economic development of society.

The 40 schools announced today will begin studying the subject from this September.

Announcing the new subject, Minister Bruton said: “This is a very exciting time for education in Ireland. There is a digital revolution taking place which is having a transformative effect on our economy, workplace, and lifestyle. In order to be the best in Europe, our education system must respond to these changes. The introduction of this new subject will teach our young people flexible, solution orientated thinking. It will teach them to be creative, adaptable learners. It will increase the number of students taking up computing and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) courses and apprenticeships after school leading to a highly-skilled workforce. I’m delighted we were able to bring the introduction of this subject forward to this year as I think it is an important and timely addition to our education system”.

 Notes for Editors

List of schools participating:

School Name


Abbey Vocational School

The Glebe, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal

Adamstown Community College

Station Rd, Adamstown, Co. Dublin

Breifne College

Cootehill Rd, Cavan, Co. Cavan

Bush Post Primary

Riverstown, Dundalk, Co. Louth

Carrigaline Community School

Waterpark, Carrigaline, Co. Cork

Castleblayney College

Dublin Road, Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan

Christ King Girls Secondary School

Half Moon Lane, South Douglas Road, Cork

Clongowes Wood College

Clane, Co. Kildare

Coláiste an Chraoibhin

Duntaheen Road, Fermoy, Co. Cork

Coláiste Bríde

New Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22

Coláiste Chiaráin

Croom, Co. Limerick

Coláiste Choilm

Ballincollig, Co. Cork

Coláiste Mhuire

Mullingar, Co. Westmeath

Coláiste na Ríochta

Listowel, Co. Kerry

Colaiste Phadraig

Roselawn, Lucan, Co. Dublin

Coláiste Pobail Setanta

Phibblestown CC, Phibblestown, Dublin 15

Creagh College

Carnew Road, Gorey, Co. Wexford

Dominican College Sion Hill

Sion Hill, Blackrock, Co Dublin

Ennistymon Vocational School

Ennistymon, Ennis, Co. Clare

Gaelcholaiste Mhuire AG

An Mhainistir Thuaidh, Corcaigh

Le Chéile Secondary School

Hollystown Road, Tyrellstown, Dublin 15

Loreto College

Swords, Co. Dublin

Luttrellstown Community College

Mill Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15

Mayfield Community School

Old Youghal Road, Mayfield, Cork

Moate Community School

Church Street, Moate, Co. Westmeath

Mount Sion CBS

Barrack Street, Waterford

Mount Temple Comprehensive

Malahide Road, Dublin 3

Presentation Secondary school

Clonmel, Co. Tipperary

Rice College

Castlebar Road, Westport, Co. Mayo

Sacred Heart Secondary School

Convent of Mercy, Clonakilty, Co. Cork

Saint Eunan's College

Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

St Aidan's Comprehensive School

Cootehill, Co. Cavan

St Brigids Mercy Secondary School

Convent Of Mercy, Tuam, Co. Galway

St Joseph's Secondary School

Convent Lane, Rush, Co. Dublin

St Mary's CBS

Millpark Road, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford

St Vincent's Secondary School

Seatown Place, Dundalk, Co. Louth

St. Finian's Community College

Swords, Co. Dublin

Stratford College

1 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin 6

Synge St CBS

Synge St., Dublin 8

Terenure College

Templeogue Road, Terenure, Dublin 6W