19 May, 2009 - Minister Haughey Launches DIT Access Programme for Inner City Schools

Minister for Lifelong Learning, Seán Haughey TD today launched a Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) Access Programme for students in thirteen second level schools in Dublin inner city. The ceremony took place at the DIT, Aungier St. in Dublin.

Minister Haughey praised the Accesss Programme initiative by the Dublin Institute of Technology the objective of which is to ensure that in the future more young people from the inner city will access higher education.
The Community Links and Access Service of DIT already works with 60 primary and second level schools in Dublin as well in Louth, Meath, Cavan, Longford and Roscommon. In addition it also works indirectly with 400 designated disadvantaged schools in other parts of the country.
Speaking at the event Minister Haughey said ‘this initiative to increase access and participation in higher education by young people in inner city Dublin is a very welcome development.

'I know the DIT has had a longstanding role in supporting equality of access to higher education, particularly in its capacity as an institution in and for the inner city of Dublin.
Minister Haughey went on to congratulate the students who were presented with Achievement Awards for having demonstrated a considerable level of commitment to an area of school life.
'I warmly congratulate the students here today on their achievements. I hope they will continue to progress their education and also encourage their friends from the area to do the same

'Working with young people from disadvantaged communities to encourage their education is a very valuable and inspirational undertaking.
'I congratulate DIT on its decision to enhance their current access programme and I would urge all higher education institutions to consider how they can do likewise,' said Minister Haughey.

Minister also spoke about the importance of widening access to higher education and highlighted the positive impact of increased investment, resources and partnerships for third level access initiatives saying
'Students from under-represented socio-economic or cultural groups, mature students and students with a disability are participating in higher education in greater numbers than ever before in the history of the state.
'We must ensure that we build on this success and achieve the new targets that have been set by the National Access Plan 2008-2013, concluded Minister Haughey.


List of the 13 schools in which the Access Programme will be delivered

CBS James Street, Dublin 8

Mercy Secondary School, Goldenbridge, Inchicore, Dublin 8

Presentation College, Warrenmount, Dublin 8

Christian Brothers, Synge St., Dublin 8

St. Paul's CBS, North Brunswick St., Dublin 7

St. Joseph's Secondary School, Stanhope St.,  Dublin 7

Technical Institute, Cambridge Rd., Ringsend, Dublin 4

Marino College, Marino Mart, Fairview, Dublin 3

St. Joseph's CBS, Fairview, Dublin 3

CBS, Westland Row, Dublin 2

Mount Carmel Secondary School, Kings Inn St., Dublin 1

Larkin Community College, Cahmpion's Avenue, Dublin 1

O'Connell School, North Richmond St., Dublin 1